Skip to content

_ beauty detox: mascara

March 27, 2011

From this:

To this:

Dr. Hauschka mascara.

Side note: The Dr. Hauschka girl at Whole Foods has quickly become my nemesis.  It doesn’t matter if I’m looking at vitamins, toothpaste, or body lotion, I can’t browse the personal care section without her harassing me every 60 seconds.  And she never seems to take a day off.  However, she did help me with my first few purchases.

Mascara was the first product that ran out and I needed a replacement bad.  I don’t look awake without it.  The Dirty Looks girls recommended Dr. Hauschka’s volumizing mascara, which I’ve also seen recommended elsewhere.  So why did I get the regular formula?  Because (a) I’m too dumb to pick a product other people like and (b) I’ve always tended more toward length and definition in my mascara.  Volume scares me.

The verdict: I hate this mascara.

It goes on very smoothly, no clumps or globs.  So that’s nice.  But it doesn’t have much oomph at all.  I’ve had to start curling my lashes and putting on two coats. (No more applying mascara while I drive to work.  Such a bummer.)  The real negative, though, is that this formula slips off my lashes and collects in the corners of my eyes, or worse, pools along my lids.  Eww!  I don’t care if it’s natural, I don’t want anything dripping into my eyeballs.

Of course, I’m going to finish it off.  No need to waste money and plastic, right?  I picked up a natural mascara on clearance at Target, which I’ll try next, but my ultimate destination will surely be Couleur Caramel, which is pretty much unanimously the best.

Dr. Hauschka is a reputable natural line based on holistic skin care.  You can find it at Whole Foods or online.  I paid 26 bucks for their mascara (sticker shock, anyone?!).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

