Skip to content

_ beauty detox: the old guard

March 12, 2011

Can you tell that I like Clinique products?  I switched to Clinique a few years ago after using Proactiv for three years.  My skin wasn’t that clear and it lacked all signs of life. You know, elasticity, glow, that kind of thing.  I kind of wanted it back.  So I went to the Clinique counter for one of their skincare systems.  It’s taken some tweaking and blending but I’ve gotten a routine down that I like.  I always get questions when I buy a mixed bag of products.  Like, “You really shouldn’t be using that moisturizer with that toner” and “Are you sure you want to get #sdfkjdhsjhk instead?” Whatever, lady. I do what I want. 

My skin has been pretty great for the last year so this was by far the most anxiety provoking non-tox switch for me.  And alas, my skincare products that were about to run out first (remember my Beauty Detox rules).  More on the switch to come (love my new products!).

As for the rest, you can tell that I’m not a beauty product junkie (although the drawer that won’t close in my bathroom could contest  that fact.)  I don’t use that many products.  This makes switching to clean cosmetics a little easier for me than many women out there.  I’m not super attached to any makeup brands, shampoos, or anti-aging goos (something I’m going to add to the routine this year).

The Old Guard:

+Skincare: Various Clinque, some with blemish-fighting chemicals.  I wash my face in the AM, tone, moisturize.  In the evening I take my makeup off with toner (I know, weird) and moisturize. I have a couple Clinique eye cremes that I don’t use regularly.

+Makeup: Clinique tinted primer/SPF (love this; will be sad to give it up), Clinique concealer, drugstore eyeshadow (very attached to my silver-grey-black compact) and mascara (I switch brands a lot).  For my lips it’s usually just Burt’s Bees.  I also have some foundation I rarely use and a collection of blush, lip glosses, and lipsticks that I only touch for special occassions.  I’m looking to add a finishing powder since my face can get slick during the day.  I’ve started using blush more often with the recent (to me) pink cheek trend.

+Nails: I never paint my fingernails and haven’t managed to work regular pedicures into the budget so I do it myself.  I have a summer color (hot pink), winter color (deep red), and a clear top coat to give my toes the pedi look.  I’m great at pedis in the car, by the way, so let me know if you need some coaching on that front.

+Shampoo & Body Wash: I switch brands often and gave up spending the money on salon brands during the recession.  My current shampoo and body wash look very natural-oh-so-nourishing-and-non-toxic but they aren’t.  More on that later.  I don’t use conditioner or styling products.  You can go ahead and hate me.

+Lotions: I like the Vaseline lotion pictured, but I don’t use body lotion every day.  I keep hand lotion at my desk and I’ve recently become obsessed with the Look Ma New Hands lotion from Bath & Body Works.  I snuck some from a relative’s bathroom over Thanksgiving (my hands were so dry!) and fell in love.  But it’s on the chopping block for now (Ok, I have to say- no promises that I won’t judiciously choose some less-clean products to use in future winter-hand emergencies).  I completely love the scent of Dr. Watkins’ Lemon Creme body lotion, but it is greasy like many cleaner products can be (as in, leaves grease deposits on my desk.  Not pretty.)

+Teeth: Sensodyne ProNamel, tastes very odd at first but we got used to it.  I’ve had various uber-flouride treatments recommended to me because my teeth are TERRIBLE but I don’t use anything extra right now.

+Fragrance: Flowerbomb by Viktor & Rolf ain’t going nowhere.  I think it might trigger a little asthma (hot), but I picked it out for my wedding and I adore it.  I don’t wear it daily or ever to the office so I think it’s okay to keep.

+Static Guard: A category unto itself, this is an absolute must for dry Texas winters.  I keep some at home and in my desk.  I don’t know if I can give it up but it can’t possibly be good to inhale.  And believe me, I inhale a lot of the stuff.  Not for fun or anything like that.

+Deodorant:  Old Spice, baby.  Don’t judge.  It works and smells great and I wish it wasn’t slowly killing me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    September 29, 2012 12:03 am

    I missed out on all this in 2011. Fun reading. Love your style. Lots to learn!

Leave a Reply

