Skip to content

_

February 20, 2010


100_0158 Originally uploaded by WL+S

I decided to start experimenting with pizza dough and for my first go around I used this recipe from Tyler Florence, subbing in whole wheat flour. (It probably made the dough a little drier, but after adding some water it was fine.)  I chose the recipe because the pizza in the picture looked sufficiently thin-crusted.  I’m not really a fan of puffy pizza.  I like the thin, cracker-like, New-Haven-style crust.  Plus, I was trying to satisfy a craving for the mashed potato pizza from BAR in New Haven — my favorite pizza ever.  It sounds weird, but it’s pure heaven.


100_0160 Originally uploaded by WL+S

Ok, it doesn’t look very appetizing. And it needed salt and garlic. But it’s a start.  Btw, that’s turkey bacon, a white sauce made with skim milk, and I used skim milk for the mashed potatoes.  So, you know, it probably would have been better with more fat too.  I made 3 pizzas from the batch of dough (and no, I haven’t figured out how to roll them into a round shape) and this one was a winner:


100_0178 Originally uploaded by WL+S

Check it out.  It’s Baker’s Ribs leftovers! On a pizza!  It was so delicious.  I’m still going to look for a thinner crust recipe, but I think pizza dough will be a go-to food/budget/leftovers/whatever-is-about-to-go-bad canvas from now on.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    March 26, 2010 11:36 am

    Great inspiration. Looking forward to further entries.

    Loved the cookies, by the way. Scrumptious.

Leave a Reply

